Hole in the Wall

Highlighting those mom & pop, greasy spoon, special type places to eat

Adalberto’s Mexican Food – Really San Diego?

Location:

1868 Rosecrans St
San Diego, CA 92106

Rolled Tacos with Cheese and Guacamole

Rolled Tacos with Cheese and Guacamole

I absolutely love Mexican food and on my trip to San Diego I was beyond excited to try some really great places. I have heard so many great things from friends and the media. I am sorry my first stop for the weekend was Adalberto’s. It was a long trip down, two hours in the car, and I was ready for some good food. Being my birthday weekend I jumped on the chance for some delicious tacos. I got on Yelp and picked the place with the best pictures and reviews, Aldalberto’s.

Rolled Tacos Plate

Rolled Tacos Plate

To start I will begin with the redeeming qualities of this eatery, as there are sadly few. The taquito plate was almost good, and I will say the guacamole that came on top made them good. The plate consisted of three taquitos, topped with guac and cheese, and served with rice and beans. The taquitos could have had a little more flavor and fried a little less, but with the guac I will say I enjoyed them. The guac tasted fresh and was nice and creamy. There was not really anything special about the rice or beans, neither bad nor good.

Fish Taco

Fish Taco

Now for the bad. This past year I have become a fan of fish tacos, so when they are available I am always eager to try them, so I ordered their fish taco. Really big, but that is where the positive ends. The fish tasted like over fried frozen fish sticks. Where are most fish tacos come with some kind of cream sauce, whatever the restaurant’s choice may be, Adalberto’s had very little, if any. Instead my taco was topped with lots of lettuce, at least it was fresh, and a large amount of salsa. It was not very appetizing.

Carne Asada Torta

Carne Asada Torta

My boyfriend ordered their carne asada torta. That was a huge mistake. Again torta’s are a relatively new food for me, but the usual tortas I have gotten usually consist of the meat, lettuce, avocado, beans, and normally some kind of cream (mayo or sour cream). Other common ingredients I have seen are tomatoes, onions, and cilantro. Adalberto’s torta was insanely skimpy. It consisted of a sad roll, a small amount of lettuce, a small amount of guac, and a super thin, tough piece of carne asada. I could barely bite through the meat.

Carne Asada Chips

Carne Asada Chips

The last thing we ordered was their carne asada chips. Everyone says when in San Diego you have to try carne asada fries. I’m a bigger fan of nachos so we went the chip route. Looking back I see now that may have been our mistake. I desperately want to say that they were a rip off, since I disliked them so much, but the amount of meat that they were topped with I can not complain that much. The carne asada chips came with a huge amount of meat, a good amount of guac, some cheese, and very little sour cream. These could have been great, but they were just missing that binding element. They needed more cheese and beans. My issue with the chips I guess could be a personal preference thing.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 260 other followers

