Hole in the Wall

Highlighting those mom & pop, greasy spoon, special type places to eat

Happy Wok, La Puente – Be Prepared for a Wait

Location:

853 N Hacienda Blvd
La Puente, CA 91744

**Cash Only**

Chow Mein

Chow Mein

So some of the locals make fun of where I live. They have given it nicknames like “China Town”. Of course that is not politically correct as there are not just Chinese descendents that have become the majority in my little town, there is a mix of Asian descents. At the same time though you can’t really blame people for the ignorant names, for a span of a few blocks, the streets are packed and probably 90% of the business signs are in some kind of Asian calligraphy that I have no clue what they say, let alone sell.

One Item Combo Plate

One Item Combo Plate

That being said I would have never guessed I would be crossing the tracks to get my fix on cheap greasy Chinese food. On nearly every corner of my neighborhood you can probably find some kind of Asian fast food, but nowhere satisfies me the way La Puente’s Happy Wok does. This place gives you the most food for the smallest price. The best deal I have probably ever seen.

Orange Chicken

Orange Chicken

I have tried several dishes from here, their broccoli beef, teriyaki chicken, kung pao chicken, mushroom chicken, and short ribs, but like most people I talk to my favorite is their orange chicken. All their other dishes were good, maybe not the best I have had, but passable, fresh, well prepared (for greasy fast food), and decent flavor. The orange chicken here however is probably a runner up for the best I’ve had. Not the best, but as they are always selling lots and lots of orange chicken, they are constantly replenishing their trays with piping hot, fresh batches. Their food is good, but maybe not the best, as I hinted at before though, I keep returning because they fill you up, giving you the most for your money. When you  order a combo they literally will mold the rice, chow mein, and dish of your choice to stuff those little plastic containers to the max.

Egg Roll

Egg Roll

Every time I go I also, have to get their egg rolls. Like their orange chicken, they are constantly bring a fresh batch out so they are always hot and fresh. Stuffed with cabbage, carrots, and all the other egg roll goodies, while seasoned perfectly, they are never a let down. If I am extra hungry and feel like splurging I’ll sometimes pick up a side of their honey chicken wings. Super messy to eat, and the bones are very pesky, but they are a nice little sweet snack.

Honey Wings

Honey Wings

One last thing to note. If you decide to come pig out here be prepared for a wait. They move quick so it is not too bad, but never have I been there were the line is not already out the door or just about to creep out. It’s worth the wait though because depending on how you eat, this could be your food for the weekend.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Happy Wok, La Puente – Be Prepared for a Wait

  1. Jaelin A Corona on said:

    this is why you go an hour before they close and no one is there. Me and my Moms went there in the evenings for dinner all the time. After recitals, movies, rehearsals you name it.

  2. Pingback: I Finally Tried Pho, Myself | Hole in the Wall

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 317 other followers

