Hole in the Wall

Highlighting those mom & pop, greasy spoon, special type places to eat

Taco Del Rio – You are the Burrito of my Dreams

Location:

445 S Azusa Ave
La Puente, CA 91744

**Less then 5 tables, order to go**

Four Taco Plate

Four Taco Plate

Before I get into the burrito of my dreams, I will start off with the foundation of a taco stand, their tacos. Taco Del Rio‘s tacos are not your standard taco. Normally when I go to a taco stand you have your choices of meat, topped with pico de gallo, a selection of hot sauces and a lime slice. The tacos here take things a step further. Along with all the usually toppings they finish their tacos off with a squirt of cream (sour cream), a large scoop of guacamole, and cheese.

Taco

Even for a purist like me, normally I get my tacos just straight meat and maybe the lime, but here I explored. I still skipped the pico de gallo and the salsa, but I allowed for the cream, guac and cheese. It was really good. The flavors are all fresh and simple. Nothing too fancy, and it makes for a really wonderful few bites.

Carne Asada Burrito

Carne Asada Burrito

Now onto my burrito, the wonderful burrito. As with my tacos, I am simple with my burritos. It is rare that I go beyond a good bean and cheese burrito, but this time my boyfriend talked me into trying a full burrito and I couldn’t have been left happier. They have two burritos an all meat and a combo burrito, both come with a special version that really just means it comes with the works. We ordered the special combo burrito, carne asada minus the onions.

Burrito

The burrito had a heaping amount of beans, lots of meat, cabbage, sour cream, guac, and cheese. It all blended perfectly. Like the tacos, everything was simple, and fresh. Nothing came across greasy. It was simply a great eat, and I can’t think of one complaint. It is huge though and could easily serve as a meal and then some in itself.

Double Cheeseburger

Double Cheeseburger

Taco del Rio has a relatively small menu – tacos, burritos, tortas, and quesadillas, all with pretty much the same meat and toppings, just complied differently. This makes for a really quickly moving line, however to throw a wrench into the system they also serve burgers, which my boyfriend had to try. For being a burger from a taco stand, it was really well made. The usual, meat, sauce, cheese, lettuce, onions, and tomatoes. Like everything else it was all super fresh and neatly prepared. The french fries were also really good. I’m not sure if anyone else has experienced this, but the best way to explain them is as if Del Taco‘s fries were always well made. Crispy, salty, soft center, and you could taste the meat drippings that must be mixed into their deep fryer.

French Fries

French Fries

One thing that makes this place special is its set up. I’m not sure if this ever changes, but the few times I have been here there are a set of three men working the counter. One controls all the toppings, one controls the meat and the grill, while the third works the cash register, drinks and fresh fries. They work like a perfectly well oiled machine, making their super long lines quickly flow.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 264 other followers

