Hole in the Wall

Highlighting those mom & pop, greasy spoon, special type places to eat

A Cute Little Spot Down by the Railroad Tracks

Location:

16100 Old Valley Blvd
La Puente, CA 91744

Hours: Mon-Sun 7 am – 9:30 pm

IMG_2350

Torta

Cortez Brothers is an adorable little restaurant on Old Valley Boulevard and I fell in love with this place the moment I walked in. Probably less than 10 tables, walls covered in those odd hidden face photos, and a kitchen open enough you can view the cooks making your food. Besides their dishes, they sell fresh baked goods, and masa for tamales.

IMG_2339

Order of Beef Tacquitos

I had an opportunity to try three of their dishes. My boyfriend ordered their torta, pork I believe this time. It was not bad, but it was not the best either. The ingredients were fresh and the roll was nice, but the meat lacked in flavor and was a little tough. I would not mind going back to try a torta with different meat.

IMG_2343

Nachos

I had a major craving for tacquitos that day, and the Cortez Brothers’ were pretty good. I was able to bite them without ripping all the meat out, which is a big plus for me. They were hot and crispy, and although their guacamole looked a  little funky it was really quite good. It was fresh, flavorful, and creamy, definitely one of my all time favorites.

IMG_2344

The last thing we ordered was a plate of nachos to share. Honestly they were a little odd, but that may be that I have never had lettuce on my nachos. The lettuce was not a pleasurable experience. The meat was not bad, but it was not great either, tender and flavorless. The beans were good though and the toppings were evenly spread around.

IMG_2337

Even though I was not super impressed by the food this time around, this place was adorable and the food was not horrible. I look forward to going back, dining in, and trying a few other dishes. Some places do better when the food is not to go and maybe I just missed their hidden gem of a dish.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 321 other followers

