Hole in the Wall

Highlighting those mom & pop, greasy spoon, special type places to eat

Music, Food, & Hot Air Balloons

Location:

37701 Warren Rd
Winchester, CA 92592

Hours: Fri. 3:00 pm – 10:00 pm/Sat. 6:00 am – 10:00 pm/Sun. 6:00 am – 5:00 pm

**Event is held end of May beginning of June**

IMG_2373

This year I got to experience the Temecula Valley Balloon and Wine Festival for the first time. Now I am not a drinker so we can eliminate the wine and beer vendors from my list of reasons to go. However I do LOVE festival food, so I spent most of my day hiding out by the food vendors and napping under trees nearby, between binges. ( I wanted to see the balloons launch in the morning , 6am launch, so it was a long day.)

IMG_2386

Pancake and Sausage Plate

I am not used to being at festivals before 10am so I have never had the pleasure of a food truck breakfast. The festival had multiple breakfast choices from breakfast burritos to a doughnut like Indian taco.  We decided to go traditional and try a food truck that was serving pancakes and sausage. YUMMY! At first I expected frozen pancakes, but I was happily surprised when I got to see to cook step outside to their flat top and make my pancakes. The pancakes were hot, fluffy and sweet. The sausages were fat, juicy, and had a nice spice. It was a very nice start to an overall disappointing day.

IMG_2388

Savory Indian Taco

Our next food adventure came in the form of something called an Indian taco or frybread. They come in multiple forms, sprinkled with cinnamon sugar, topped like a funnel cake, and a savory version similar to a Mexican tostada. We went with savory. Disclaimer, before I continue this description, I have a freakishly tiny mouth and it made eating this thing very difficult. That being said our savory Indian taco was topped with chilli beans, lettuce, tomato, cheese, and sour cream. I was not able to get everything in one bite so the flavor was a little dull to me. Also, the chili beans were clearly canned and not high quality canned either. Mix that with the frustration of eating it and I will definitely pass next time.

IMG_2396

Frog Legs and Chips

I have always wanted to try frog legs, but have never been brave enough to, I finally found some balls and gave them a try. I have never regretted a food so much. They were over priced, $10+, oilly, and topped with a really gross sauce. The frog legs left a soapy, chemical taste in my mouth, and did not feel cooked. Of course I have never tried frog legs before so I have nothing to compare this to, but I will not be trying them again. I ended up throwing them away, I could not stomach them at all.

IMG_2397

Bratwurst and Chips

My boyfriend is a big fan of bratwurst and other sausages so that was our next adventure. A bratwurst with sauerkraut and mustard in a pretzel bun served with handmade potato chips. If it was not for the pretzel bun, this may have been quite good, but the bread to meat proportion was way out of whack.

IMG_2398

Bratwurst and Sauerkraut

The sauerkraut, was nice, not too over whelming with a nice bite to it. I would have enjoyed a little thicker casing on the sausage for more of a snap at the bite, but the flavor was decent. I enjoyed the chips, hot and crunchy, but needed lots of salt.

IMG_2405

Red Sangria

Wine and beer tasting are the main attraction for this festival so even though I am not a drinker we decided to indulge. We spent most of our tickets on Quint Sangria. From the lands at this stand it was clear that it was a big hit at the event. People returned over and over again just to have their glass refilled with either white or red sangria, with slices or orange, lime, and lemon floating among the ice. Very refreshing.

IMG_2408

Beer Tasting

My boyfriend ventured over to the beer sampling. The lines were not as bad as the wine lines, but some were pretty decent. My boyfriend only tried one beer, the Stella Artois. He described it as decent.  After this we went back to the food.

IMG_2410

Bavarian Pretzel and Cheese

Lately I have been on a big pretzel thing. Always craving them. The basic ones, hot and salty with cheese. So we tried the pretzel truck and went traditional. It was hot and fluffy, with lots of salt, maybe too much, but I liked the crunch it provided. The cheese was were it really failed. Super cheap tasting, with an odd plastic flavor.

IMG_2412

Fresh Brick Oven Pizza

To close off the Wine and Balloon Festival they had a live concert with one of my favorite bands, All American Rejects, closing off the night. In order to get a good seat we arrived early, and stocked up on some final snacks. I picked a pizza truck. It had a full brick oven in it and the pizza was really quite yummy. Good cheese and the tiny pepperonis were kind of cute. For the price it was decent and super fresh.

IMG_2416

Lamb Gyro

The last thing we tried was Greek. I had never tried Greek food until this and it hooked me. Now I cannot wait to try more. We got a lamb gyro. It was really yummy and probably my favorite food of the night. The meat was tender and hot, the grilled onions and peppers were nice, and the sauce held it all together. It was huge and I loved it.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 321 other followers

