Hole in the Wall

Highlighting those mom & pop, greasy spoon, special type places to eat

$5.99 All You Can Eat Pizza Buffet!

Location:

17371 Valley Blvd
La Puente, CA 91744

Hours:

Sun – Thurs 11 am – 9 pm / Fri – Sat 11 am – 9:30 pm

**Buffet, take out, and delivery**

IMG_3176

Apple Pie Pizza to Go

Normally my blog posts take a few days to go up. I’ll eat at a few places over the weekend and through the week, take notes as I go, and then at the end of the week I will sit down and fully compose my post. Maly’s Pizza Buffet, I was sitting in literally two hours ago and was so impressed and felt such an urgency to get the word out there about this place that I had to come home and write it immediately.

IMG_3177

Apple Pie Pizza

Maly’s opened late this summer, about two months ago and has been on my list of places to try for awhile. Today I finally got the chance to give them a shot and they more than exceeded my expectations. They offer a $5.99 pizza buffet, that includes pizza (obviously), a salad bar, soup, pasta, and dessert. I did not try their pasta, so that is one area I won’t be touching on.

IMG_3168

Broccoli Cheese Soup

Today they had two choices of soup, chicken noodle and broccoli cheese. This is probably one of the best broccoli cheese soups I have had from a restaurant in a long time. The broccoli was cooked just right, not too mushy and not too crisp. The soup was thick and creamy with nice flavor. For a buffet I was very impressed with the quality.

I am a simple salad person, but I love salad bars and Maly’s was awesome. Their selections were fresh and crisp and they didn’t give you way too many varieties. The salad bar was comprised of lettuce, spinach, a small variety of vegetables, croutons, and four dressing toppings. Another plus for them, AWESOME ranch! You can always win my heart with ranch.

IMG_3169

My salad creation from the salad bar

Now onto the jewel of a pizza buffet, their pizza. One thing I must point out is this place is fairly large, but very empty. When I got there one other party of two was there and before I left two other parties of three arrived. That being said they have very little turn over with food so a lot of the pizza when I first got there was a little on the cool side, clearly have been sitting. Understanding of the problem I tried one or two types and for not so fresh pizza it was really good.

IMG_3172

Hot Mushroom and Pepperoni Pizza

Completely making up for the lack of turn over they are willing to make custom pizzas fresh. We ordered a simple pepperoni and mushroom and while we were there we were lucky enough to try fresh sausage pizza and a jalapeno pizza. MMMMM fresh, their pizza is really good. Thin crust, but I read they do thick as well, right amount of sauce, and good amount of cheese. I personally preferred the pepperoni and mushroom, but I am simple that way. My boyfriend preferred their jalapeno, said it had really good flavor and heat.

IMG_3173

Jalapeno Pizza and Sausage Pizza – Fresh

Now onto the desserts. Only had two choices, but one option completely blew me away! Their apple pie pizza (pictured at the beginning) is heaven! I had it cool, when we first got there and had it fresh when they restocked, both have their qualities and both ways were just as good. My boyfriend ate four slices before he even touched the actual pizza! We even ordered one to go and the party of two that was there when we arrived did the same. It is simply cinnamon seasoned apples on a pizza crust and topped with what I would guess is a brown sugar cinnamon strudel topping, mmmm. The second option they had for dessert was a chocolate brownie, also pretty good, but I highly recommend their apple pie pizza. IMG_3175

I will be honest their food is not 5-star, but for a $5.99 all you can eat it is amazing! Maybe not a Pompeii’s, but miles above a Pizza Hut or Domino’s. Beyond the buffet they sell wings, pizza by the slice, have take out and deliver. What more could you want? This place is family owned and everyone there was super kind. If you live around here or are ever in the area I highly recommend stopping by and spreading the word.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 308 other followers

