Guy’s Guido Burger

27 Mar

I recently had the opportunity to give Hodad’s another try and omg they truly are one of the best burgers! With a fat but happy conscience I must admit to going down to San Diego two weeks in a row almost purely for burgers alone. The first time I went to Hodad’s I thought they were good, but not necessarily blown away. Second time around I was fully impressed. Huge, juicy, and flavorful, one of the best burgers ever.

IMG_3793

On one of my trips I tried their Guido Burger, Guy Fieri‘s burger from when he featured Hodad’s on Triple D. Its a cheeseburger with swiss cheese, pastrami, grilled onions, and mustard. A little too much mustard for my taste, but pretty yummy, although I will admit I probably prefer their standard burger.

IMG_3790

Guido Burger

This time around my boyfriend gave their bacon burger another go and we both now have a much better appreciation for it. The last time I spoke of their bacon burger I believed I described it as chopped up pieces, not the case. Hodad’s creates bacon patties. They chop up their bacon and then form them into a small little patty. So fatty, but so good.

IMG_20140221_113318_870

Double Bacon Burger

Lastly I have a better feel for their sides. Their onion rings and “fries” better described as potato wedges. Their onion rings are pretty good. Well battered and cooked well, onion is tender. The wedges are awesome, but a gamble. They will either be amazing, flavorful and tender, or sub-par and unimpressive.

3 Responses to “Guy’s Guido Burger”

  1. Charles Hicks-Moore May 1, 2014 at 5:34 pm #

    Thanks for reminding me of Hodad’s. I’ve heard about it every once in a while for years & I don’t ever remember going there. I’ll give it a try after I drop about 30 pounds. Good job! http://CoachZero.com Have a great day! 🙂

    • Simply Alex May 3, 2014 at 9:40 pm #

      Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed my post. =) Hodad’s is great! You really must give them a try.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Jumble Spoiler – 04/11/14 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog - April 11, 2014

    […] Guy’s Guido Burger […]

Leave a comment