Nogales Burgers

11 Jan

Location:

19036 La Puente Rd
West Covina, CA 91792

**Only accepts cash, no credit, but ATM is available**

Chili Cheese Fries

Chili Cheese Fries

Nogales Burgers is a staple for every teen attending the surrounding schools in the area. Being an alum to Rincon Intermediate and having most of my friends attend Nogales High School, right across the street, it is shameful that up until last week I had never set foot in this place. Yes I have had my share of soggy fries from a greasy white bag, as that was a staple among my classmates in middle school, but my food experience never went beyond that.

Double Cheeseburger

Double Cheeseburger

Being a Rowland High School alum with 90% of her friends Noglaes alum, I manage to bring many of them over to my side of the tracks and expose them to Colima Burgers, Nogales Burgers rival. Pretty much all of them told me Colima won, but I was still very eager to try Nogales. I cannot say I was completely satisfied, nor fully let down.

Cheeseburger

Cheeseburger

I’ll be honest to say my expectations were not super high, and I walked away pretty indifferent. I can’t honestly say anything was bad, but nothing was really good either. The food was all just very bland. One thing I looked forward to trying most was the fries and sadly I have to report that they taste about the same fresh as they did cold and soggy in that iconic greasy, white bag. Their menu was huge though and they had lots of “specials” so it is highly possible that their other food is more impressive, but as far as a burger joint it was just neutral. The women taking my order was pretty distant, and did seem very concerned or interested in me, her customer, but while waiting for my order and man from the back came out and greeted another guest and began a conversation as if they were friends. That was nice to see.

Leave a Reply

