Chris’s Burgers – I Survived the Pigeons

15 Mar

Location:

13737 Amar Rd
La Puente, CA 91746

**Always a line out the door**

Double Cheese Burger

Double Cheese Burger

I discovered Chris’s Burgers a little over a year ago. Every time I have ventured down there it has been an experience, usually hunting for a table. With lines out the door, almost guaranteed, and very few table selections, hunting for a table is more brutal and ruthless than college students in a college parking lot at 9am. The last time I went down to Chris’s however was a different challenge.

Cheeseburger Combo

Cheeseburger Combo

Normally I head to Chris’s on Friday nights, but this time I was in the area on a Saturday afternoon and it was nice enough to sit outside on their few outside tables. I don’t think I will do that again. It was attack of the pigeons my entire meal. Swooping, diving, and even venturing onto the table where I ate. I think I’ll stick to fighting for an inside table, late Friday nights. Don’t let my story scare you though their food is worth whatever you have to endure.

Chicken Sandwich

Chicken Sandwich

Let’s start with the foundation, their burgers. They cover all the basics of good greasy spoon burger, juicy patty, lettuce (theirs is shredded), tomato, onion, cheese, and “special” sauce. Chris’s however adds extra sauce, more then most places I have been to. They do it perfectly, take it right to the edge of too much and stop. It leaves for a super juicy, flavorful, experience.

Chicken Sandwich Bite

I recently tried their chicken sandwich which did not disappoint. At first glance, the chicken appears to be the fake junk you get from places like Jack in the Box or McDonalds, which it may be, but after trying it I believe otherwise. The sandwich is composed of two thin pieces of chicken, breaded and fried.Β  It is topped simply, with mayo, tomato and lettuce. Really enjoyable to eat and nice and filling.

Chili Cheese Fries

Chili Cheese Fries

The main reason I go to Chris’s however is, their chili cheese fries. They are to die for, my absolute favorite place to go for chili cheese fries. To make them even better order with extra cheese. The chili at times has come with large chunks of beef in it, ensuring me that the chili is legit. Opposite to this though is one of the things that makes the chili awesome is how small the meat is ground, and broken down. Everything is well seasoned, and drizzled with ranch is so amazing.

Chili Cheese Fries

Only one thing I have ordered from there was a let down. I once ordered their tacquitos. Don’t recommend. They serious lack flavor and the guacamole they serve them with is very disappointing.

2 Responses to “Chris’s Burgers – I Survived the Pigeons”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Banana Shake Saves the Day | Hole in the Wall - July 23, 2014

    […] everything is pretty good and pretty similar to other burger joints, like Colima Burger or Chris’s. My go to however has always been their chicken strip combo. Under $6.50 and you get three hot and […]

  2. New Stuff from Chris’s Burgers | Hole in the Wall - July 9, 2013

    […] weekend I dined at one of my favorites, Chris’s, a past review, and decided to try something new. My boyfriend got their club sandwich, which […]

Leave a Reply

