A Dive Bar in Fullerton Called Joe’s

24 Apr

Location:

124 W Commonwealth Ave
Fullerton, CA 92832

Hours:

Mon-Sun: 11 am – 11 pm

**Open later on weekends**

Burger and Onion Rings

Burger and Onion Rings

I love fair food! Funky deep fried everything, it is one of the few days I can force myself to completely forget about calories and indulge in every way I desire. This last year at the LA County Fair between my boyfriend and I we consumed a foot long hot dog, fried Oreos and Reese’s, a fried Klondike bar, a deep fried hot dog and cheeseburger, and a blooming onion, along with probably a few other things. We were a set of walking heart-attacks.

Italian Sausage Burger

Italian Sausage Burger

Our love for this junk is what led us to Joe’s. It was a month or two after the fair and we wanted our giant corn dog. A little search on Yelp and I found Joe’s. We came for their “Woody,” but stayed for everything else. I have now visited there a total of three times and have gotten to try a good variety of their menu.

Rattlesnake and Rabbit Sausage Plate

Rattlesnake and Rabbit Sausage Plate

Joe’s has several different burgers. The specific one we tried was made up of a 50/50 patty, hamburger and sausage. It was topped with a slice of fresh mozzarella and served on a fresh cheese bun. The flavor of the burger was fairly balanced, although the sausage flavor was very apparent. A great plus for the burger was how very juicy it is.

Rattlesnake and Rabbit Sausage

A big junk of Joe’s menu is their unique sausages. Besides the basics of a Vienna hot dog, German bratwurst, and polish sausage, they have a variety of funky sausages including duck and bacon, wild boar andouille, smoked alligator, smoked ostrich and a few more. I have had the joy of trying two of them.

Cajun Chicken Club

Cajun Chicken Club

On my first trip to Joe’s I tried their basic bratwurst. The flavor was good, and it was my first time trying sauerkraut, and I enjoyed it. The brown mustard it was topped with was packed with flavor. The second trip there I got brave and tried their rattlesnake and rabbit sausage. I have never eaten either so I have nothing to compare them to, but I loved it! My one issue with both sausages is even though the bun is yummy, the sausage to bread ratio is way off. I always have bun left over.

The "Woody"

The “Woody”

My favorite plate from Joe’s is not even one of their funky dishes. It was a dish I ordered in an attempt to try to be a little health conscious, their Cajun Chicken Club. It is a blackened chicken breast, chipotle mayo, bacon, and mozzarella on a ciabatta roll. The chicken was super moist, the bacon was flavorful, mozzarella was fresh and offered a wonderful texture, and the mayo added just the right amount of spice. I LOVE IT!

Shoestring French Fries

Shoestring French Fries

The thing that got me to Joe’s was something their menu lists as the “Woody.” It is their foot long corn dog. Having come their craving a fair hot dog I was expecting the fair trick, two hot dogs on a stick for the length and almost 50/50 batter to dog. Not here. The hot dog itself is a foot long and the entire corn dog is almost all meat, just a very thing layer of batter. The hot dog is all beef, I assume, with lots of flavor and the little bit of batter reminds me of pancakes. Definitely not what I was expecting, but good.

Shoestring Sweet Potato Fries

Sweet Potato Fries

With all entrees you have the choice of three different sides. I have tried them all, sweet potato fries, regular fries, and onion rings. Both the sweet potato and regular fries are served shoestring style. I am not a fan of this cut so even though the flavor was good, and they were crunchy I did not really enjoy them. In the other hand though they have the best onion rings I have ever had. The onions are tender, you can take a bite without the whole onion coming with. The batter is crispy and such a compliment. With Joe’s ranch on the side I could eat these all day!

Onion Rings

Onion Rings

I am a soda addict so another big draw for this place is their mugs of soda. They are huge! I have never seen mugs this size and thy fulfilled all my soda loving heart’s dreams.

Giant Soda

Now for dessert. Deep fried treats after deep fried treats. They have all the fair favorites, Twinkies, snickers, and ho-hos, along with many others. They have deep fried apple pie, waffles, and fat boys. I have wanted to try all of them, but in favor of my waist line I have only indulged in one.

Deep Fried PBJ Sandwich

Deep Fried PBJ Sandwich

For one of my best friend’s birthdays, my last trip to Joe’s, I let him make a dessert choice and he went with the PB&J sandwich deep fried. To be honest I am not a huge fan of the PB&J sandwich, but I still really enjoyed this clogged artery on a plate. First for the things I really enjoyed. The ice cream that is served with their desserts is creamy, rich and sweet. The batter was fluffy crunchy and just all around perfect. In my personal opinion there was way too much peanut butter, but my friend liked it and did not feel the same way.

Joe's

If your ever in Fullerton, or even spending some time at Disneyland (not too far away) I highly recommend stopping in for some unique eats.

2 Responses to “A Dive Bar in Fullerton Called Joe’s”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Slummin Gourmet | Hole in the Wall - May 29, 2015

    […] for my fair worthy corn dog, which lead me to Joe’s (but that is another post –> click here). I was drawn in by the promise of a lobster corn dog and stuck around for the thought of trying a […]

  2. The Healthy Side of Joe’s | Hole in the Wall - August 16, 2013

    […] my first post on Joe’s I mentioned that I originally went there in search of fair food, the giant corn dogs and fried […]

Leave a Reply

