Pompeii’s, My Dad’s Pizza Place

6 May

Location:

1425 Valinda Ave
La Puente, CA 91744

Hours: 4pm-10pm

**Hidden away in the corner of a shopping center so keep an eye-out**

IMG_1941

Medium Pepperoni Pizza

My dad was a huge pizza fan and grew up not too far from Pompeii’s. He was never a big spender, but it seemed like he was always up for pizza. We had a local joint next to our house where we usually went, but he would always talk about Pompeii’s and how much he loved the pizza. He always would suggest we go there, but I would never agree, I wanted New York Pizza. One night though he took matters into his own hands and decided he would prove to me how good Pompeii’s is.

IMG_1947

He was supposed to go pick up our usual order from our usual pizza joint, but this time he took a little longer than usual. I knew something was up. When he arrived, rather than having our usual large pizza, garlic bread, and anitpasta salad, he had pizza from Pompeii’s. I was pissed. I tried the pizza and I hated it. After that he never tried again.

IMG_1938

Garlic Bread

My dad passed away in 2009 and I never thought of Pompeii’s again until I started my first real job. I got hired at Edwards Stadium 18 West Covina and had to drive by Pompeii’s everyday. Being very nostalgic and missing my dad dearly, I decided I would try Pompeii’s. It took me over a year to finally get in there, but I am so glad I did. I do not know if the recipes have changed that much or if my anger blinded my taste buds, but Pompeii’s food is amazing.

IMG_1934

Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

We ordered their pepperoni pizza, chicken fettuccine alfredo, garlic bread, and a garden salad. No complaints for anything. My boyfriend is not a fan at all of thick crust, but he loved their pizza. The dough was fluffy and soft. I am not a huge fan of overly sauced pizza and they have the perfect amount. The mozzarella cheese was super fresh. Unlike many pizza places and especially the Dominos and Pizza Huts of the world you could really taste the cheese and it had amazing texture.

IMG_1933

The fettuccine was the best I have ever had. My only complaint was that there was too much chicken; what an awesome complaint to have. The sauce was creamy and packed with tons of flavor. The pasta was cooked perfectly al dente. I could eat this all day. The pasta came with garlic bead which was just very simple. A loaf with butter and garlic spread. I would have preferred more garlic, but with the amazing quality of everything else I will not complain.

IMG_1927

Side Salad

For a little green in my pizza, pasta, cream, and super cheesy dinner I got a side salad. For being a little hole in the wall pizza joint the salad was fresh, really good croutons, and not too much cheese. It was a nice opener to the meal. We decided that with the amazing food and spectacular service that they deserved a bigger tip than we had in cash, so we were forced to order dessert so we could leave a tip on our card. So glad we did. We ordered their cheesecake to go. Not too sweet, nicely dense, an awesome cinnamon taste in the crust and topped with chocolate drizzle. AMAZING.

IMG_1964

Cheesecake to Go

This place has just been remodeled so there are new tables, booths, and fresh paint. Where we were seated I could see into the kitchen and I was able to watch them prepare everything we ordered, from the pizza to boiling the fettuccine. I was so impressed that dishes were completely made to order. From what I saw and overheard from employees and people coming into the restaurant this place is family owned and ran, which makes me love it even more. The best part the food did not leave me feeling greasy and heavy. Although I was full, after eating three pieces of pizza, a piece of garlic bread, half the pasta, and my garden salad I still felt good. I highly, highly recommend trying Pompeii’s if you are ever anywhere in the area.

4 Responses to “Pompeii’s, My Dad’s Pizza Place”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Expanded Menu at Pompeiis | Hole in the Wall - September 11, 2014

    […] took my niece to Pompeii’s a few weeks ago to celebrate her birthday and was surprised to see that Pompeii’s menu had […]

  2. Article Written on Pompeii’s Pizza Parlor | Hole in the Wall - June 3, 2014

    […] at least a little, by taking a features writing class. For my final I decided to write on Pompeii’s Pizza Parlor. Although I have already done a write up on this community gem, I decided to share my article with […]

  3. $5.99 All You Can Eat Pizza Buffet! | Hole in the Wall - October 26, 2013

    […] will be honest their food is not 5-star, but for a $5.99 all you can eat it is amazing! Maybe not a Pompeii’s, but miles above a Pizza Hut or Domino’s. Beyond the buffet they sell wings, pizza by the […]

  4. Magically Perfect Cheese | Hole in the Wall - August 13, 2013

    […] I wrote about Pompeii’s I bragged about there perfect cheese and luckily my last visit supplied me with a chance to show […]

Leave a Reply

