Everything made to Order at Aldolino’s

22 May

Location:

659 E Arrow Hwy
Azusa, CA 91702

Hours:

Tue-Fri 11:30 am – 9 pm/Sat 12 pm – 9 pm/Sun 10 am – 9 pm

**Sunday brunch from 10am-2:30pm, caters, and has take out**

IMG_2174

I discovered Aldolino’s through a friend. I may have only been there twice, but I have absolutely nothing bad to say about them and find myself craving them from time to time. The food is made fresh, the decor is so cute, and the service is spectacular. They make you love them, even if they mess up, but I’ll explain that later.

IMG_2179

Garlic Rolls

From the two times I have visited I have had the opportunity to try three of their appetizers. My first visit I was convinced to try their fried calamari. I have never had calamari so I have nothing to compare Aldolino’s to, but I actually enjoyed it. They were hot, crispy, and from what I could tell flavorful. The other two appetizers I have had the pleasure of trying was their house bread and butter, and their garlic rolls. The bread is fresh! The house bread had a nice crust to encase a fluffy warm dough and is served with yummy smooth butter. The garlic rolls were delivered to to my table hot, coated in butter, Parmesan, and lots of garlic. They were nearly orgasmic.

IMG_2181

Pollo Ai Carciofi

All of the main dishes I have tried are pasta dishes, but they are packed with lots of texture and flavor, and the pasta is always perfectly prepared.  One dish I tried was their pollo ai carciofi, which is fettuccine pasta with chicken, artichoke, and sun dried tomatoes in a mushroom creme sauce. Like everything it came to the table hot and even though I would have been satisfied with half, I could not help myself and was left with only about half a cup, which I had for breakfast the next morning.

2012-07-14_18-20-18_2(1)

Fettuccine ALL’ Aragosta

Another dish that was absolutely wonderful was their fettuccine all’aragosta which is, sauteed shrimp and vegetables in a lobster brandy sauce. This was my boyfriend’s dish and I ended up eating his more than my own. What I appreciated most about Aldonino’s dishes is that they do not skimp on their shrimp. The dish was filled with lots of large shrimp.

2012-07-14_18-20-11_386(1)

Ravioli Di Vitello

I am a big ravioli plan, so my first taste-bud adventure was one of their multiple ravioli dishes. A fan of mushrooms, I went with their ravioli di vitello. It is a beef ravioli in a mushroom herb creme sauce with a touch of white truffle oil. I would not go as far as to say that I did not enjoy this, it is simply a safe, simple dish, which was well executed, but if you are up to it I recommend going with a more complex dish.

IMG_2183

I apologize in this last pasta description because for the life of me I cannot remember nor locate the name of this dish, but it was very good. It was a fettuccine pasta with zucchini and shrimp in some sort of creme sauce. Filled with flavor, shrimp, vegetables, and tons of flavor. If I could remember the name I would highly recommend this plate.

IMG_2184

I personally have only tried one dessert although my best friend raves about their chocolate souffle, which I saw and it did look very impressive. The dessert I tried was their creme brulee and my dessert experience left me super impressed with the staff. Originally I ordered their blueberry creme brulee, but unfortunately they were out so I had to settle for a classic. After waiting quite awhile my waiter returned to let me now that he had been trying everything he could, but their food torch had died and he was unable to brulee my creme. He gave me the option to turn it down, but he seemed so frustrated I accepted. The custard was super creamy and not too sweet. What really impressed me though as the waiter removed the desseert from our bill. Aldolino’s is wonderful.

Leave a Reply

