San Diego County Fair was Kind of a Let Down

9 Aug

Location:

Del Mar Fairgrounds
2260 Jimmy Durante Blvd
Del Mar, CA 92014

Hours:

Tue-Thu 11 am – 11 pm/Fri 11 am – 12 am/Sat 10 am – 12 am/Sun 10 am – 11 pm

Early June – Early July

IMG_2612

Cinnamon Roll

I love fairs, I love fair food, and I love the LA County Fair, but sadly that is the only County Fair I have ever been to. I have heard lots of good things about the San Diego Fair, so this year I decided to give it a try. Their website made it sound like they would have an awesome assortment of food. Sadly that was not necessarily the case. Food was not horrible, just nothing that amazing that I could not have waited for the get at the LA County Fair.

IMG_2616

Australian Battered Potatoes

We left early in the morning to get to the Fair when it opened. Looking forward to a day of junk we skipped on the breakfast and were starving when we got there. Starving we ate at the first stand we ran into, a giant cinnamon roll stand. At this stand you can personalize your cinnamon roll with cream cheese frosting, a variety of fruits, and a variety of nuts. We kept it traditional and stuck to just cream cheese frosting. The rolls were served hot and had  a nice texture. I kind of enjoyed the rolls, would say I liked them, except for the fact that some of the cinnamon sugar candied during cooking and left a really chewy texture and stuck to your teeth bad.

IMG_2619

Shrimp and Pineapple

Next we indulged in their Australian battered potatoes, an item I had seen online and really looked forward to trying. Yuck, total waste of money and overall bad idea. They are thick sliced potatoes, dipped in a thick batter, fried, and served with cheese and ranch. Battering potatoes like this just is not a good idea. They are thick and heavy tasting, un-enjoyable. I felt full after two and it was not a good full feeling. The cheese was flavorless and there was not enough ranch. If you do decide to try them still grab salt, lots and lots of salt.

IMG_2620

Waffle Dog

The next thing we tried was probably the best thing we had all day and the healthiest. Simple and not really anything to brag about though. It was from Chicken Charlie’s, ironically, and it was shrimp in a pineapple bowl. Fresh shrimp and juicy, refreshing pineapple. After the nasty potatoes it left me feeling good. I then ruined that good feeling with a waffle dog. Just take a corn dog and rather than frying it stick it in a waffle iron. Ta Da really a disappointing twist on a corn dog. I missed the fluffy batter and crunchy exterior.

IMG_2621

Eclair

Next I gave my sweet tooth a treat. Yummy eclairs. I sought out this stand with intentions of buying a cream puff, they had a wide variety of flavors, but at the last moment went with an eclair. I am so happy I did. A decent size and eclair had a good texture. The cream inside was cool, creamy, and not overly sweet. I am not a huge fan of chocolate, but I even enjoyed the chocolate topping; it pulled it all together.

IMG_2624

Spiral Fries

Now if you read my blog you will remember how much I loved Oxnard’s Strawberry Festival’s spiral fries. I found them here and they in no way compare. The fries were not crunchy, the cheese was plastic like, and the beans were salty. I was starving so I ate them, proving they are edible, but I would not buy them again.

IMG_2626

Bacon Maple Doughnut

Next we picked up a giant maple bacon doughnut. I have always wanted to try one and it was awesome! To begin with it is huge, almost the full size of a plate. The dough is fluffy and it is just the right amount of sweet and salty. MMMMMMM. It is so messy to eat though.

IMG_2622

BBQ Burger

The last thing we ate was a BBQ burger. The meat was not the best quality, may have even been a frozen patty, but the burger was nice. It was topped with BBQ sauce, onion rings, and bacon. It all melded well.

One Response to “San Diego County Fair was Kind of a Let Down”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Favorite Fair of the Summer | Hole in the Wall - September 10, 2013

    […] a giant maple bacon doughnut for breakfast. It was delicious. Better than the one I enjoyed at the San Diego Fair. It was hot, and fluffy, with just the right amount of sweet and salty. The bacon on this one […]

Leave a Reply

