Please, Please Put the Cheddar Down

5 Oct

Location:

2101 Hwy 95
Ste 4

Bullhead City, AZ 86442

Hours:

Closed Monday

Tue-Sat 10 am – 9 pm / Sun 9 am – 5 pm

IMG_2839

Free Chips and Salsa

I love the river, Bullhead City, AZ and Laughlin, NV will always have a very special place in my heart. It is the home of my childhood, although I have never lived there and a place very special for me and my daddy. Now that he has passed I am drawn there more than ever. It is one of the few places I still feel him, and truly feel at peace. Atleast once a year when life starts wearing me down I pack up for a weekend on the river.

IMG_2841

Yummy Nachos

Like many river rats, I have never really looked much into local food, I have always been all about Laughlin’s all-you-can-eat buffets. Buffets are so hard to pass up on, especially on a fat, lazy vacation. Having this wonderful blog to think about during this year’s trip I decided to spare my waist line and hoped to spoil my taste buds by trying some local hole in the wall eateries.

IMG_2843

El Charro, a little Mexican place right on the main highway was one of the lucky spots I decided to indulge in, and sadly I have completely mixed feelings on this lovely place. I want to start off by saying the place was super cute, service was excellent, and food is freshly made, there was even a woman in the corner making tortillas from scratch.

IMG_2844

Cheese Enchilada

We started our meal off with nachos. Nachos with the potential of possibly being some of the best nachos I have ever had. There was so much going on from jalapenos, to green chilies, and tender steak, with lots of flavorful beans, guacamole, and sour cream. Mmmmm writing this my mouth begins to salivate. I have never had green chillies on my nachos and those are truly what put them over the top. The only downfall to this flavor packed dish was the size of the steak, way to big for anyone with a mouth like mine to bite into. Yes my mouth falls far on the small side, I believe even a larger mouth would struggle. (My boyfriend has a large mouth and he complained.) Despite this we couldn’t control ourselves and still devoured them.

IMG_2845

Steak Torta

Our main dishes is when things began to run downhill quick and it was all powered by the almighty cheddar cheese. I understand that most Mexican restaurants do not use all authentic Mexican cheeses and many places do use cheddar, but it has never stood out to me this way. The meals were overpowered with the taste of cheddar. Cheddar is all they seem to use.

IMG_2847

I ordered a cheese enchilada, and sadly all I was left feeling was yuck! The beans and rice were nice and the tortilla for the enchilada was so tender. I loved the red enchilada sauce alone, but the enchilada was stuffed with cheddar and sadly when eating it all I could taste was the cheddar. It over powered the sauce, the beans, everything. I couldn’t even finish it.

IMG_2851

Inside Steak Torta

My boyfriend ordered the steak torta and he encountered the same problem. The bread was delicious, the tomatoes were fresh, the guacamole was flavorful, and the steak was tendered. When he bit into it all he could taste was the cheddar. It was a complete let down. It would have been amazing, were it not for the cheese. The french fries were yummy on a side note.

I am torn on whether I would recommend this to someone vacationing on the river. This place is so cute and friendly, and has so much potential, if they could just throw out the cheddar. They looked like they had a well stocked bar and I can highly recommend the nachos, so I guess I recommend giving them a try by stopping in for a drink and some nachos.

4 Responses to “Please, Please Put the Cheddar Down”

  1. Jean Has Been Shopping October 8, 2013 at 8:53 pm #

    This is a good review. I’m a local, but I haven’t tried El Charro. Thanks!

    • Simply Alex October 9, 2013 at 9:22 pm #

      I’m glad you enjoyed my review. Being a local do you have any places you would recommend for me to try next time I’m around?

      • Jean Has Been Shopping October 10, 2013 at 8:00 am #

        We always enjoy lunch at Casa Serrano / El Palacio (owned by the same family), although it gets mixed reviews on Yelp. For breakfast we choose D’Place in Fort Mohave or Feathers in the Avi.

      • Simply Alex October 15, 2013 at 10:39 am #

        I have never gone into Fort Mohave, but I’ll have to head out that way next time I’m out there. I have heard good things about Casa Serrano and El Palacio from other people out there and was planning to try them the lat time I was out there, but the yelp reviews scared me away. Yelp can’t always be trusted though so I’ll be sure to put them on my list.
        Thank you for the recommendations.

Leave a Reply

