Diner Chain Putting Denny’s to Shame

11 Oct

Location:

1751 Highway 95
Ste. 25

Bullhead City, AZ 86442

Hours:

Sun – Thurs. 6 am – 10 pm / Fri-Sat 6 am – 11 pm

**This is a chain restaurant with locations along the west coast, Utah, Arizona, Nevada, Idaho, Colorado, and Iowa**

IMG_2831

Sweet Cream Pancakes, Bacon, Sausage, and Eggs

This is not a hole in the wall and does not meet my requirements to cover them, but I cannot help it their cooking was so spot on. For being a chain the cooking sure tasted homemade and heart felt. Black Bear Diner is a chain similar to probably Denny’s or IHop in relation to the kind of menu they have and similar atmosphere minus the open 24 hours. I have driven past this particular one multiple times on my trips to the river and on this last trip I finally had the pleasure to eat there. It was located within walking distance of the hotel I was staying at, Lodge in the River (highly recommend for a cheap stay).

IMG_2825

For breakfast my boyfriend and I tried their pancakes, cinnamon roll pancakes, and their biscuits and gravy. Their pancakes are made with sweet cream so they fall on the sweet side without adding any syrup to them, which may be a problem for someone like me who is a little picky about the sweetness. That being said though they were warm and fluffy. Very enjoyable, but for me I would have trouble eating more than one, just because it was so sweet. The Pancakes came with eggs, bacon and sausage which were all very good and I normally won’t eat eggs unless I make them at home.

IMG_2828

Cinnamon Roll French Toast

The cinnamon roll french toast was very yummy, but did use a little too much egg batter, easily over looked though. The french toast is exactly what its name implies, slices of cinnamon roll, dipped in egg batter, and grilled. They were soft, sweet and cinnamony. I loved them and they left me stuffed.

IMG_2830

Biscuits and Gravy

Last thing we tried was their biscuits and gravy. I am really not sure how to describe them, because my feelings for them change from day to day all thanks to the texture. This biscuit is amazingly light, like cutting into air and then it melts in your mouth. I jump back and forth in my mind on whether this is a good thing or a bad thing, either way it was an interesting thing. Besides that the gravy was good, could use a little more flavor, but nothing to truly complain about.

I feel bad promoting Black Bear Diner since I’m so dedicated to mom pop establishments, but my true concern is quality food. If more chains focused on fresh, quality food, they would hold such a poor spot in my mind. Although a chain Black Bear Diner had the qualities that male mom pop stops great,

Leave a Reply

