Can I Live off of Fried Ice Cream and Nachos?

16 Dec

Location:

15735 Amar Rd
La Puente, CA 91744

Hours:

7 Days a Week: 9am – 10pm

IMG_3133

I have fallen in love with another Mexican restaurant and to add to my joy this place optimizes “hole in the wall.” At first glance, this restaurant in a run down, old school shopping center, next to a vacant dirt lot looks very unimpressive. Its bright yet dingy paint gives you the impression of better days. Once inside however you are met with wonderful smells, a much larger dining area than you would expect, and a kind staff. To top it off I have LOVED every dish I have tried from Durango’s and I can’t wait to go back again.

IMG_3134

Tacquitos

I have had the pleasure of eating at Durango’s twice so far. the first time we went my boyfriend and I ordered two of their combination plates; I got crunchy tacos and he got the cheese enchilada and chile relleno. We also got an order of tacquitos to try. Mmm we both cleared our plates. The tacquitos were crispy, and fresh, not greasy at all. I was able to take a bite out of one and not rip all the meat out. The guacamole they re served with tastes very pure, not much added, very little fuss and the result is one of the best guacamole I have ever had.

IMG_3136

Two Taco Plate

I loved the tacos, almost as good as my favorite tacos from La Indiana. They were crunchy, stuffed with tender meat, and not too greasy. The rice was nicely cooked and the beans had a nice flavor. Needless to say, I cleared my plate.

IMG_3137

Chile Relleno and Cheese Enchilada Plate

The chile relleno was spicier than I am used to, topped with jalapenos, but was still very nice. It was fried perfectly and had a good amount of cheese. The enchilada was nice, very basic, but done right. The red enchilada sauce had good flavor.

IMG_3178

Beef Nachos

Our second trip to Durango’s was even better! During our first trip there we had seen their nachos and knew we had to come back for them. I LOVE their nachos! Very cheesey, with lots of beans, and shredded beef. Topped with their wonderful guacamole and sour cream, I could not put these down. When you come this is a must order.

IMG_3181

Alambres Jepehaunes

As a main dish we ordered one of their steak dishes, alambres jepehaunes. This is sirloin chunks cooked with green peppers and onions, than topped with cheese. Served with tortillas, rice and beans, this dish is packed with flavor and very satisfying.

IMG_3182

Fried Ice Cream

To finish off our meal we ordered their fried ice cream, decadence to die for. Vanilla ice cream rolled in some kind of corn cereal I believe than deep fried, served in a fried shell and topped with chocolate sauce, whipped cream and a cherry, it was a dream!

One Response to “Can I Live off of Fried Ice Cream and Nachos?”

  1. dianasadventures May 27, 2014 at 6:43 pm #

    wahhh, everything looks so good. My bf works nearby… I’ll have to make him go with me

Leave a Reply

