Ruby’s Kitchen

26 Dec

Location:

1263 N Grand Ave
Walnut, CA 91789

Hours:

Mon-Sat 11 am – 7 pm

IMG_3242

Ribeye Pho

When I was in high school there was a Taco Bell right down the street from the campus. I walked past it everyday on my way home, and usually would grab a bean burrito for the walk. Sometime during my sophomore year, my Taco Bell was turned into a Pho place. Since than I have to admit I have somewhat held a grudge against the many Pho places that have popped up in my neighborhood since than. Also I am not much a “soup” person so once I learned what i actually was I still was not super eager to give it a try.

IMG_3237

Thai Tea and Passion Fruit Tea

I may not be a soup person, but my boyfriend is. Recently some of his co-workers took him out for Pho and instantly he was hooked. He told me I had to try it and desperatly began looking for one to take me too. He decided on Ruby’s Kitchen, a fusion place that recently opened across from Mt.SAC and a place he had seen recruiters at the Marines next door eating from quite a bit.

Since Ruby’s classifys themselves as fusion place I was not as intimidated and upon seeing chili fries on their menu I felt better (Beyond their regular menu they have a ever changing special menu.). My boyfriend ordered their ribeye pho, I got their teriyaki pineapple chicken bowl, and we ordered their chicken wings and jalepano poppers for an appetizer.

IMG_3239

Jalapeno Poppers

The poppers left me with mixed feelings. I hate cream cheese stuffed poppers, which these were, but the jalepanos were fresh and had a juciy snap to them which lessned my dissatisfaction with the cream cheese. The chicken wings were decent. I am not a fan of chicken wings, but the chicken alone was flavorful, and they were nice, hot, and crispy. My boyfriend really enjoyed the wing sauce.

IMG_3240

Pineapple Teriyaki Chicken Bowl

I was forced to try the Pho, which I will admit was not that bad. It had very nice flavor and if I liked soup I may have enjoyed it. It looked really good and I wanted to eat it, but soup has never really been my thing and I really have to be in the mood for it.

My chicken bowl was really good. Rather than slathering my meat in teriyaki sauce like most palces do, Ruby’s cooks pineapple in teriyaki and than tops the chicken with that. You still get that awesome teriyaki flavor, but not so over powering and the pineapple is refeshing. My boyfriend does not even like teriyaki chicken and he liked my bowl.

IMG_3241

Chicken Wings

To drink we ordered their thai tea and passion fruit tea. I am not a fan of thai tea, but the passion fruit was delicious. It was refereshing and has peices of fruit in it, very good.

The only downfall to Ruby’s is their service. The servers and lazy and unattentive. Out waitor spilt water across our table and did not even care to wipe it up. The manager (or owner I am assuming) though made up for them. He was very polite and kind. He boxed up our meals for us and cleaned up the mess of his workers. He was very personable.

One Response to “Ruby’s Kitchen”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. More Ruby’s Kitchen | Hole in the Wall - March 4, 2014

    […] I had the chance to try some new things at Ruby’s Kitchen and they still continue to […]

Leave a Reply

