OB Noodle House

1 May

Location:

2218 Cable St

San Diego, CA92107

Hours:

Mon – Thurs 12 noon – 11pm / Fri – Sun 11am – 11pmIMG_3823

I wanted to like OB Noodle House so bad, but I just can’t. With it’s cool interior, oddly Thai inspired, chalkboard full of unique beers, and super friendly service, I had high hopes. Hopes that were crushed and became worse over time.

IMG_3825

Rare Steak Pho

OB Noodle House is another one of my Triple D recommendations, so I had really high expectations. Everything seemed perfect until the food arrived. I have to admit I was impressed with the ample amount of meat, but that ultimately became a downfall. The broth was clearly greasy. Everything lacked flavor and was in no way impressive. At first my reaction was that this pho was just bland, but within 5 minutes of leaving the place I began to feel heavy, similar to the feeling of a day of fast food, and I could not get rid of the greasy feel in my mouth.

IMG_3826

Greasy Pho Broth

We only tried their rare steak pho, so I can’t say much about any of their other dishes. The seating is not very private so I was able to get a good look at my neighboring patron’s plates. They looked good, but I am hesitant to give them another try, pho has never left me feeling heavy. Many reviews state the wait as a main complaint, but I really did not find it that bad. Service was awesome and they have countless numbers of unique beers, so I could recommend giving them a shot if you are a beer fan, but skip them if you are looking for good pho.

Leave a Reply

