Banana Shake Saves the Day

23 Jul

Location:

416 E Foothill Blvd

San Dimas, CA91773

Hours: 7am – 10pm 7 days a week

**Warning- not the best place to eat if in a rush, but worth a little wait**

IMG_4156

Chicken Strips Combo

It has been a rough couple of weeks and yesterday felt like one of the longest days of my life, but Kosmos saved the day. After spending a good six hours yesterday running all around between Downtown LA and Long Beach I found myself in San Dimas, yes that is a big jump, but I was picking up my car from a family friend’s house in the area. It was 3 o’clock and I had yet to eat for the day so I decided I would treat myself to an old favorite Kosmos.

My brother introduced me to Kosmos years ago. He lived just down the street from it and this greasy spoon holds some special memories for me. I have so many memories of eating their chicken strip combo in front of my brother’s brick fireplace in his living room. In high school I liked to run away from my problems by escaping to my brother’s house and I could almost guarantee that on the rough nights we would be making a stop at Kosmos drive thru.

IMG_4157

I have tried multiple items from their menu over the years. Their cheeseburgers, chicken sandwiches, burritos, everything is pretty good and pretty similar to other burger joints, like Colima Burger or Chris’s. My go to however has always been their chicken strip combo. Under $6.50 and you get three hot and juicy chicken strips on top of crispy french fries and a soda. Hits the spot every time and there really is no better pick me up.

Yesterday I ordered my usual, and went to wait for my order. As I warned this is not a great place to go if you are in any kind of rush, because service is always super slow. The drive thru can easily take 5-10 minutes and if you are dining in it’s even longer. The staff is always wonderful, however. Yesterday they ended up taking about 20 minutes or so to deliver me my food. I’m used to the wait and as I was on the phone too for most of the wait time so I really didn’t notice. Despite my lack of concern, when they did finally bring me my food the employee was super apologetic and offered me any free dessert I would like. As it had been a really rough day I accepted.I received a free small banana shake and it was amazing. Made with real bananas it was not too sweet and was super creamy. On a hot socal summer day it really hit the spot.

Although it was a small gesture, as bad as my day and week had been, this small offer completely turned my day around. I felt re-enthused and not so burnt out. Little things like this, along with all the memories are what keep me coming back.

Leave a Reply

