Burgers in the back of a Liquor Store

7 Aug

The Standing Room

144 N Catalina Ave
Redondo Beach, CA 90277

Hours:
Mon 11am – 8pm / Tues – Sat 11am – 9:30pm / Sun Noon – 9:30pm

**Save money with a soda from the liquor store, but have cash**

Sweet Potato Fries - The Standing Room (Photo by G Hurtado)

Sweet Potato Fries (Photo by G Hurtado)

I don’t spend much time in this area at all, but when my boyfriend had some things to do in the area I wanted to take advantage and try some new food. I did a quick Yelp search for our go to safety meal, burgers, and went to the closest that came up. That lead us to The Standing Room.

Pulling up we were a little confused, until we realized that the burger place was actually in the liquor store and then I got excited; a true unique eats location. After we went in I was even more surprised. Not only is it a burger place in the back of a liquor store, it is a gourmet burger place in the back of a liquor store. Fancy ingredients, complex flavor combos and of course kind of steep prices, not saying the food not worth it, just be warned this isn’t a quick stop cheap eats burger joint.

Cash Burger - The Standing Room (Photo by G Hurtado)

Cash Burger (Photo by G Hurtado)

Once again this a place my boyfriend and I could not agree upon, kind of like our G Burger experience. I love the food, he was less than impressed. He ordered their Cash Burger, which is their version of a Western Bacon Burger, complete with onion ring and BBQ sauce. I did not try it, but he said the flavor was disappointing and the meat was poor quality for the price. I ordered their Classic Burger, which is just that, classic meat, cheese, and thousand island dressing. I loved my burger, thought it was juicy, flavorful and you could really taste the quality of the meat. We shared an order of sweet potato fries, which immediately reminded me of my favorite lunch at CSUF, so they were a hit with me. Crunchy yet fluffy, they were perfect.

Classic Burger - The Standing Room (Photo by G Hurtado)

Classic Burger (Photo by G Hurtado)

Now since The Standing Room is in the back of a liquor store they do not supply you with the traditional eating area, but there is a nice area, few tables and counter with bar stools, out in the parking lot. Since this place is just a few blocks from the beach it is really a nice place to eat, not too hot and a nice ocean breeze on a good day.

Leave a Reply

