Lemongrass…It’s OK

30 Apr

Lemongrass

20 Kainehe St

Kailua, HI 96734

Hours: Closed Monday / Tues-Sun Lunch: 11am-2:30pm & Dinner: 5pm-8:30pm

HisandHerPho

His & Her Size Pho

Lemongrass was one of the first restaurants my fiancé took me to when I arrived here. I have tried their grilled pork, pad Thai, rare steak pho, house special wings, and spring rolls.

SmallPho

Rare Steak Pho

Their grilled pork and noodles was the first dish I had here. The pork was tender and flavorful and the portion size was good.

My fiancé’s go to dish is their pad Thai, but I’m not sure if that’s for the flavor or the varying  degrees of heat they offer. I personally find the pad Thai unmemorable, but my fiancé likes making it unbearably hot.

PadThai

Pad Thai

Our go to order at Lemongrass is pho and spring rolls, like with most places. The pho is ok, most times, inconsistent flavor has varied almost every time we go, but the best thing about Lemongrass pho is their sizes. Unlike most pho places where their small, medium and large are all about the same size, at Lemongrass their small is little, and their large is huge. I always struggle to finish my pho, so their small is perfect, while my fiancé, at most places is left hungry, he loves their large.

Their spring rolls are ok, a slightly stronger taste than I prefer.

SpringRolls

Spring Rolls

Their house special wings are supposed to be their hot chicken wings. They were different and juicy, but not necessarily flavorful or hot.

An always redeeming quality for Lemongrass is their exceptional service. Their wit staff is always helpful, kind, and welcoming. Service is pretty quick and normally very attentive.

Leave a Reply

